My own blogging experience ​

4I never thought I would ever be writing blogs, but whenever blogging was announced in my Writing for Marketing Communications class. By entering the blog world this year, it has made me open up more as a student and helped me gain a better understanding of writing skills.

Starting a blog wasn’t an easy thing to do. It took a lot of time and long thinking process to come up with the right title, theme and what kind of content I wanted to release to the viewers.

There are many lessons I have learned throughout this semester from my professor, Frank Armstrong. My class was asked to write one key lesson we’ve learned about blogging this year but, I can’t think of just one. There are so many lessons that have resonated with me to create a compelling blog post.

I believe the structure is critical in writing. It allows your audience to be more engaged with your writing if your content is structured in smaller paragraphs, within 250-500 words and, has white space. You should always use a right hook, use of hyperlinks and, having a memorable closing paragraph to leave your audience wanting more.

Some values that I have learned about myself as a person/ writing experience is to be positive through your writing and in general. When writing blog posts, you need to be passionate about the topic you’re trying to get your audience to read. If you show confidence through your writing, people will see that and be more interested.

My feelings about writing blogs to a global audience regularly is kind of scary to me. Knowing that readers could be reading my work, expressing their own thoughts and, interests makes me wonder who is actually reading them. I’ve embraced the fact that people could hate my writing or even love it.

Some remaining thoughts that I have about blogging are that writing is the core of communication. It helps you become a better writer in general, the more you write, the better it will show in your work.

Blogging allows you to process your thoughts and think about you want you to want your content to look like, feel like, through the theme or style of your post. Blogging not only could change your life, but it also turns the life of the reader. And because blogs are free for the audience and open to the public, it is a selfless act of service to invest your time, energy, and worldview into a piece of writing and then offer it free to anybody who wants to read it. Others will find inspiration in your writing.

Thanks for listening,

Em

Leave a comment